Barcelona 2012 part 1.

I just realized I haven’t blogged at all about or trip to Barcelona in August. I have so many good pictures in Facebook, so I decided to share a few and do this in three parts I think.

Eric at the Turku Airport 2.

The plane before leaving in Turku.

Me and Eric flew from Turku to Girona airport with Ryanair on the 14th of August and took a bus to Barcelona.

Me at the Girona Airport, waiting for the bus to Barcelona.

I think the bus trip was like 2 hours or 1,5h. We were in Barcelona like at 01.00 and started to look for a hostel. On the first night we ended up in a hostel called Lullaby Garden, which was quite nice for it’s price. Was quite inaccessible in a way, it did have a sort of stool lift. You know the kind where you sit and it rolls you up the stairs. But because I can walk fairly well stairs on my own, we decided to just walk and Eric carried the wheelchair. The breakfast was really good too. Some pictures from the Lullaby:

Shoes.

The next day, me at Lullaby Garden hostel, going out to explore the city of Barcelona by day.

So after the breakfast we packed our stuff because we weren’t going to stay the next night there. It turned out we spent every night in a different hotel. Which was nice because I’m definitely going back to Barcelona and now I now 3 (!!!) hostels that have accessible rooms. I wonder if Helsinki has any hostels with accessible rooms. I mean cheap, hostel dorms rooms, not hotel rooms.

Pictures from the streets of Barcelona:

 

Eric on the streets of Barcelona! NP: Heli Kajo – Barcelona

Hipsters pose as Hipsters pose. @ Bar Casa Falcon

We got our first beers in Spain at Bar Casa Falcon, near our second nights hostel, the Urbany Hostel, which was very accessible. Though in our first room they had not thought that I might want to sleep in a down bunk. So they changed us to another room. It had wheelchair accessible toilets and showers too. I was really surprised and also grateful because I really didn’t want to sit on a floor in a sleazy shower. And Urbany had a pretty cool bar lounge terrace on its roof top:

From the terrace of Urbany Hostel Barcelona.

Me, before going out at Urbany Hostel.

As you can see, my hair looks horrible. I don’t know why, maybe it’s the humid or something. And I don’t think we had a straightening iron either. Or did we? Can’t remember anymore. I should always blog right after the trip.

Totally forgot to take pictures of the rooms but they were pretty nice, especially the fact that at the end of each bed, there was a socket. Because you know smart phones, always running out of battery. Especially when you are acting super tourist and taking pictures everywhere. At least Eric took a picture from our rooms’ window:

A view from our rooms’ window. @ Urbany Hostel Barcelona

I think the price was affordable too, but the location was a bit far from the beach and the center so we decided to go in to some other hostel next day.

After that we headed to the beach. Straight, Straight, Straight to the beach.

The Beach.

 

More in part two, next week…



Leave a Reply

