Midsummer’s festives

This has been a weird month since I haven’t had a job and I have been able to just chill out in parks and beaches with my friends. Luckily I have two job interviews on Monday, and I’m really looking forward to the first one. I have to find my job sertificates somewhere, not sure where I’ve put them last year. I hope I’ll find them but if not, I’ll just have to hope for the best. And it’s off to Norway on Wednesday with Noora, I am so excited about that. I hope the weather will be great because we both like to sunbathe.

I haven’t had a real Summer vacation since… 2008? Now I’ve had a month and I don’t know if I have spent it really well. Quite a lot of drinking and partying. And I haven’t read a single book! I’m still in the middle of the second book of A Dance with Dragons. I am such a huge fan of the series. I just wish George R. R. Martin would write the next books faster. Nothing is more annoying than waiting for the next installment.

Kim and Mira in Kaisaniemi Park

We have been spending a lot of time in Hietaniemi Beach, it is my favorite beach in Helsinki, located in the Töölö district.

Kim at Hietaniemi Beach with his fancy sunglasses.

Yesterday we were at our friends in Northern Helsinki and sunbathed the whole day, topless obviously! I get tanned so easily so I don’t like to have awful tan lines.

Me with no makeup. I’m not really that burnt, it’s just an Instagram effect I think.

It’s the Midsummer festival now and almost everyone else is out of town. I didn’t have any cottage party to attend so we had a city juhannus.  We were at dtm yesterday with my friends Hanna & Joni. A lot of our friends ended up in there later in the evening. Almost all of my friends are in the gay scene, so it feels like going to home when you go to dtm, the biggest gay bar in Scandinavia, I think.

Hanna and Joni in dtm.

Me at dtm.

Though there were only 3 of us in the table we had like 3 drinks each because they were only 3e before 23.00. So we decided to save some money and buy a few extra. I wasn’t too drunk though, probably because on Thursday I was super drunk. I don’t know if there’s a word for it in English but in Finnish we’d say suojakänni. It means that you can’t get too drunk on the second night in a row. On the table there’s a shot of salmariIt’s a mixed liqueur that tastes like salty liquorice. I think many foreigners dislike the taste. I think I’m going to take a bottle of that to Spain in August to see what the people from my IRC channel think of it.



Leave a Reply

