Recent few days

In the recent days I have made a bit of research on my fellow OI people. Most of you who have read my blog know me and you know that I have a disability, well, it is called Osteogenesis Imperfecta.  I have several good friends with OI in Finland and now here in Scotland I actually feel a bit lonely. So I’m on a mission. There has to bee some other OI’s in Aberdeen! It’s just a statistical fact. I want to meet them. How are the gimp circles around here?

Me as a little girl in my first wheelchair.

I have bumped into some great blog’s too this week, for example Sandy’s Perfectly Imperfecta ! It’s funny how even though each OI is a unique person, we often have so much in common. Most of the OI’s I know from Finland are smart and educated. Must be all that reading when you don’t have time to ski and play ice-hockey… I think having a disability like OI also develops your problem solving skills, as sometimes you really have to calculate on how are you going to do this and that, without breaking a bone in the process. Especially if you have already broken something and you have a cast, which are often a bit heavy.

I broke my left femur last summer and I think it never healed. They just couldn’t make high and tight enough cast that it would have held the thigh in place. So they changed it four times. They should have listened to me, I told them that they should put some small nails there to keep the bone in place (like they did two summers before when I broke the right femur the same way and it healed absolutely fine) On the last time I asked them to make a cast I can get rid of myself. I never went to the last check-up. Oops. Well, I live in Scotland now, screw Jorvi.

I think I might start to write about OI more now. I have somehow avoided bringing it up, as it doesn’t really affect my doings at all. Like for example I have been on the same IRC channel for the past 4 years and only today one guy found out I have OI. Which is quite weird because I think I have talked about it earlier on several occasions! Well, you can’t catch everything, not even on #ETD…

I’m going to start using more Twitter again. Twitter is so much fun.

Other news, well my electric wheelchairs charger is broken AGAIN, so I can’t really go out at the moment! Shoo, luckily it’s reading week. I can go to the library and the Hub (because I live between them), which is the main cafeteria in the campus. Otherwise the campus is such a cobble stone hell that I have no intentions on doing that at the moment. My shoulder is a bit sore still, I fell on my back last week at the Priory. Might be a small fracture somewhere in there but hey, what are you going to do about a fracture in your back? Smart, but hey, we had fun and triple vodka orange juices were 3£! TRIPLE. You know I love vodka.

 



Leave a Reply

